Election in Malawi

Election in Malawi

Since 2014 the elections for president, members of parliament, and councillors have been held at the same time, for terms of five years.

The electoral process is a year-long affair and provides a carnival atmosphere for visitors as parties compete in dressing up supporters and putting up campaign posters and other materials on trees and along roads. The most competitive and popular rallies are the presidential campaigns. These are normally huge and well-designed festivals, complete with traditional dances, music, and speeches.

Malawi is a multi-party system, which means that there are multiple parties as well as a number of independent politicians who do not formally associate with any party. Malawian citizens who are 18 or over entitled to vote. Foreign nationals who have lived in Malawi for 7 years can also vote.

2019 Tripartite Elections will be held on May 21, 2019, to choose a President, 193 legislators and 462 ward councillors for the five-year period from May 2019 to 2024.

According to the Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC), the number of registered voters for the 2019 elections has risen to 6,859,375.

Presidents of Malawi

Hastings Kamuzu Banda (1964-1994)
Hastings Kamuzu BandaHastings Kamuzu Banda Medical Practitioner, Politician and First Pr...
Bakili Muluzi (1994-2004)
Bakili MuluziBakili Muluzi Second President of Malawi He was Malawi’s first M...
Bingu wa Mutharika (2004-2012)
Bingu wa MutharikaBingu wa Mutharika Third President of Malawi He was the first Ma...
Joyce Banda (2012-2014)
Joyce BandaJoyce Banda Fourth President of Malawi She was the first female ...
Peter Mutharika (2014-Present)
Peter MutharikaPeter Mutharika Educator, Lawyer and Fifth President of Malawi H...